National Education, Health and Allied Workers' Union (NEHAWU)

Welcomes you!!
Your visit to our webpage is highly appreciated. Nehawu UFS Branch is composed of the branches from the Bloemfontein and QwaQwa campuses. Each campus has its own branch executive committee which operate independently to address the needs and aspirations of the members according each geographical area.
The Branch is committed to abide by the Constitution of NEHAWU and University policies,regulations and Acts governing the Institution.
We further commit ourselves to co-oporate with the University Council and Executive Management to enhance the processes of transformation, diversity and equity in higher education.


We subscribe to good corporate governance, promotion of administrative justice and equality for all.
NEHAWU was founded on 27th and 28th June 1987 by workers from the Education, Health, Government and Social Welfare sectors. The Union is affiliated to COSATU - Congress of South African Trade Unions, which is the biggest federation in the country with 1.9 million members.
NEHAWU is in COSATU for one strong workers' voice, to unite with workers from other progressive sections of our South African society.
NEHAWU is the biggest Public Sector Union and the biggest in the Public Service Coordinating Bargaining Council, a negotiations structure for public service employees in South Africa.
NEHAWU is based on the following core principles:
  • Worker control of the union;
  • Non-racialism;
  • Worker leadership;
  • Democratic decision making through mandates and report backs;
  • Worker solidarity: An injury to one is an injury to all!
  • International Solidarity.
Last updated: 11 February 2015 11:11

Contact Us
Nehawu UFS Branch
Botho Building: Room 8
Tel: (051) 401 2981